18 results
Results per page

null European Collectivity of Alsace

Published on 02/12/2021 - Modified on 02/12/2021

Set as bookmark

European Collectivity of Alsace

Europe, international

Bas-Rhin and Haut-rhin merged into one entity since 1. January 2021

The European Collectivity of Alsace (ECA) was created on 1 January 2021. The new entity came about through the merger of the departments of Bas-Rhin and Haut-Rhin and is part of the Grand Est Region. The Collectivity, under its president Frédéric Bierry, incorporates 880 municipalities and has taken over the traditional responsibilities of the departments, including secondary schools, social assistance and fire and emergency services, in addition to specific responsibilities for crossborder cooperation, bilingualism, transport and healthcare.
The Mayor of Strasbourg, Jeanne Barseghian, and Pia Imbs, the President of the Eurometropolis of Strasbourg, will be working together alongside the ECA to boost Strasbourg’s European dimension in all of these areas, principally with regard to mobilities and through crossborder cooperation programmes.